The configuration section for Logging cannot be found in the configuration source

Topics: Logging Application Block
Apr 3, 2007 at 2:03 PM
It is my intent to utilize the Enterprise Library Application Blocks. I am new to dotNet. I have downloaded the ‘Enterprise Library – January 2006’ version. The solution built successfully and I can execute the ‘Hands on Labs’ for logging. To transition to my code base, I did the following:
created a C# console application,
added the project references
(Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Common.dll
Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Logging.dll
Microsoft.Practices.ObjectBuilder.dll),
created the app.config file with the ‘Enterprise Libray Configuration’ utility (contents below),
saved and closed both solution and configuration files.

When I execute the solution within Visual Studio 2005, I receive the following error:

The configuration section for Logging
cannot be found in the configuration source.

A section with the name of “loggingConfiguration” definitely exists. It is like it does not see my app.config file.

I have tried with the app.config in the same folder as the .sln file and also in the folder containing my program.cs file. Thinking it might be an issue with the app.config I created, I even copied the app.config from the QuickStart project. All efforts produced the same error message.

I have the sense that I am overlooking the obvious.

- app.config contents -
<configuration>
<configSections>
<section name="loggingConfiguration" type="Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Logging.Configuration.LoggingSettings, Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Logging, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null" />
</configSections>
<loggingConfiguration name="Logging Application Block" tracingEnabled="true"
defaultCategory="General" logWarningsWhenNoCategoriesMatch="true">
<listeners>
<add source="Enterprise Library Logging" formatter="Text Formatter"