logging using enterprise library application

Topics: Exception Handling Application Block, Logging Application Block
Feb 9, 2010 at 9:38 AM

Dear all,

I am totally new to enterprise library. I need to create an exception module which need to log the exception to flat file, event log, database and email as message in different situations. Can any one help me by telling how to proceed in my task. Do i need to create a table in my database to log the exception?

Regards

Suja

Feb 9, 2010 at 10:36 AM

Hi,

What do you mean by different situations? Do you have different scenarios for this one?

Since you are new to ent lib, I encourage you to read the documentation first, there are some available walkthoughs that will help you in configuring a block for a specific task. You might also want to try the quickstart applications that comes with ent lib. It is available when you install the source code. It is usually in <DriveLetter>:\EntLib41Src\Quick Starts. There is also the ent lib hands-on-lab which is available via this link http://entlib.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Hands-on%20Labs&referringTitle=Home .

For your task:

You would need to configure the exception handling application block.

1. Add a new exception policy
  2. In your policy, add a exception type
  3. In your exception type, add a Logging Handler
  4. Configure your logging handler and point the LogCategory property to the category.

To log to a flat file:

1. add a flat file trace listener on the tracelisteners section of the Logging Application Block.
  2. add a category where you want to associate the flatfile trace listener or you can use the default category which is the "General" category
  3. add a trace listener reference on the category that you've created and point it to your flat file trace listener

NOTE: The same steps also applies to the event log and email.

For the database: