Dynamically Change Log File Name in each run

Topics: Logging Application Block
Jan 12, 2015 at 1:43 PM
Edited Jan 12, 2015 at 1:44 PM

After spending a lot of time searching for a suitable code to change the log file name in each run of the code, I found one given by Randy Levy but that uses Enterprise Library 5 and our project is built on version 6.

so the following code is not working any more and frankly speaking I am not very good at coding and getting a hard time to use all the options provided in useful websites.

Can someone please help me rewrite the following section using Enterprise Library 6 or point me towards a way to get help on this particular scenario?

Thanks in advance.
 static void InitializeContainer(SerializableConfigurationSource loggingXmlConfigSource)
            // Create the container
            IUnityContainer container = new UnityContainer();
            container.AddNewExtension<>();// <EnterpriseLibraryCoreExtension>();

// Configurator will read Enterprise Library configuration 
            // and set up the container
            UnityContainerConfigurator configurator = new UnityContainerConfigurator(container);

// Configure the container with our own custom logging
            EnterpriseLibraryContainer.ConfigureContainer(configurator, loggingXmlConfigSource);

// Wrap in ServiceLocator
            IServiceLocator locator = new UnityServiceLocator(container);

// And set Enterprise Library to use it
            EnterpriseLibraryContainer.Current = locator;
Jan 12, 2015 at 2:27 PM
Thanks to the stimulant and the much needed break that I took before looking at this issue again today. I think I have finally solved this issue. I wasn't very sure that this would be so easy with Enterprise Library 6.0

here is what I did to my code:
            IConfigurationSource configSource = ConfigurationSourceFactory.Create();
            var logSettings = configSource.GetSection(LoggingSettings.SectionName) as LoggingSettings;