DAAB contribution challenges with DatabaseSyntheticConfigSettings

Topics: Data Access Application Block
Apr 24, 2014 at 2:17 PM
Greetings,

I am working to extend the DAAB for use with Teradata. On the whole this is going well (I'm a novice programmer), but I have a challenge with the DatabaseSyntheticConfigSettings (DSCS) class which is called by DatabaseProviderFactory. DSCS contains a handful of private DbProviderMapping instances that map, for example, OracleDatabase as a default Oracle provider. Clearly, no such mapping exists for Teradata. The default GenericDatabase works well for many unit tests, but there are some that fail because it is necessary to use functionality in my TdDatabase class directly (for instance: "Parameter discovery is not supported for connections using GenericDatabase").

DSCS is able to map OracleDatabase since this class is defined (yet now deprecated) in the base DAAB library itself. I currently have the Teradata contribution in a separate project; I cannot add a reference to the Teradata project since it references the DAAB - this would create a circular dependency. I could add the Teradata content into the DAAB itself, but then it becomes a project for my use only; then there's no chance to put this up on Nuget, and anyone who wants to do the same thing has to reinvent the wheel. Or I can derive new classes from DatabaseProviderFactory and DatabaseSyntheticConfigSettings, but that seems to defeat the purpose of a single all-purpose DatabaseProviderFactory.

I would think this would be a general challenge for anyone who wishes to extend the DAAB, regardless of database type. Anyone have recommendations how to proceed?
Apr 28, 2014 at 7:51 AM
You should be able to create a custom Database implementation for Teradata similar to what is done for the entlibcontrib OracleDatabase. To avoid circular dependencies you would have to break the TeradataDatabase into its own assembly that just references DAAB.

~~
Randy Levy