Validation Block - Only DTO

Topics: Validation Application Block
Mar 3, 2009 at 12:24 AM

I am new to the Ent Lib Validation Block
It seems straight foreword to use, but I have a question that I could not find the answer to on this forum or searching on Google

Consider a simple Person Class:

public class Person
{
    int _personId;
    string _personName;

public int PersonId{
        get{ return _personId;}
        set{_personId = value;}

public string PersonName{
        get{ return _personName;}
        set{_personName= value;}
}

And consider that as Person Factory Class like so:

public class PersonFactory
{
    public static Person GetPerson(int personId)
    {
        ...implementation
    }
}

I want to apply the Validation Block with the following attribute:

[RangeValidator(0,RangeBoundaryType.Inclusive, 100,RangeBoundaryType.Exclusive, MessageTemplate="PersonId should be between 0 and 99", Ruleset="DefaultRuleset")]

The problem is that the person class is in my data layer - and is actually created using Entity Frameworks.  That means I can't easily apply the validation in the EF.  I want to apply this validation in my PersonFactory (true SOC - validate in the Domain Logic Layer, not the Data Layer) on the GetPerson Method's personId's parameter - but I don't think I can.  I have monkeyed around with it for a bit and I have not had any success.

My question - does the validation block only apply to DTO properties and not argument parameters?  If not, how do you apply against the method?

Mar 3, 2009 at 7:47 AM
Hi,

AFAIK, In the Validation Application Block it is only possible to validate parameter in the WCF Integration, see this: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd140110.aspx . However, there are some possible work around found.

One is to explicitly validate the parameter:

public Person GetPersonById(int personId)

{

RangeValidator rangeValidator = new RangeValidator(0, RangeBoundaryType.Inclusive, 100, RangeBoundaryType.Exclusive,