Add new database connection from my application

Topics: Data Access Application Block
Oct 1, 2008 at 7:00 PM
Hello to everyone.

Sometime now i am studying the Data Access Application Block. Although it is simple to understand i came across one requirement that so far i cannot solve.

How am i suppose to create many connection strings, and delete them if i want, not using the Enterprise Library Configuration tool, but from a form that i have already created for this reason. So that from my customer's view he can connect to many databases, unknown to me and manage his connections.  Of course the application needs to write back to app.config what the user entered, so it can remember at next start and, also delete what the user deleted. Is there any project that i can look, that takes care of this? Anyone needed that?

Thank you.
Oct 2, 2008 at 1:41 AM
The connection string can be stored in the application configuration file, or it can be stored externally. The following is from the Ent Lib 4.0 help file. 

Use default connection string
Database dbSvc = DatabaseFactory.CreateDatabase();
Named config entry:
// Use a named database instance that refers to an arbitrary database type, 
// which is determined by configuration information.
Database myDb = DatabaseFactory.CreateDatabase("Sales");
External connection string:
// Assume your application contains the routine GetConnectionString. 
string myConnectionString = GetConnectionString();

SqlDatabase sqlDatabase = new SqlDatabase(myConnectionString);

Your question is not really an Enterprise Library question, more a dynamic, user configurable connection string question.  Other idea is to store the connection string in the user or local machine hive of the registry.
Oct 2, 2008 at 1:00 PM
Hi and thank you for your reply.