Logging XML to SQL2005 database

Topics: Data Access Application Block, Exception Handling Application Block, Logging Application Block
Jun 23, 2008 at 12:16 PM
I am quite new to the Enterprise Library (using 4.0) and have got a little lost.

We are creating a SQL2005 database for logging and my boss wants to use the XML datatype.  I would like to know if is was possible to log exceptions in pure xml so they can be written to the xml datatype field.  I have tried using XmlExceptionFormatter but the result produced is not pure xml as the HandlingInstanceID is inserted at the beginning.

I hope someone can help.

Thanks
Jun 23, 2008 at 2:38 PM
Hi,

The generation of ill-formed XML is a known issue that needs fixing. And since the instance ID is added by the logging exception handler itself, using a new formatter won't help. You will need to use a different logging exception handler, probably mostly cloned from the existing one. You can either create a handler with design-time support like the existing one, which requires creating a couple of assemblies and some extra code, or just create a custom exception handler with a constructor that receives a NameValueCollection with the configuration items; you will not get design-time validation or guidance on what the configuration should be, but it's much simpler. You can see an example of a custom handler in the EHAB quick-start at "QuickStarts\ExceptionHandling\CS\ExceptionHandlingBasicQuickStart\AppMessageExceptionHandler.cs".

Hope this helps,
Fernando

SkelNonch wrote:
I am quite new to the Enterprise Library (using 4.0) and have got a little lost.

We are creating a SQL2005 database for logging and my boss wants to use the XML datatype.  I would like to know if is was possible to log exceptions in pure xml so they can be written to the xml datatype field.  I have tried using XmlExceptionFormatter but the result produced is not pure xml as the HandlingInstanceID is inserted at the beginning.

I hope someone can help.