Windows Vista Logging App Block Security Error!

Topics: Logging Application Block
May 7, 2008 at 9:46 PM
First - The Error: "The application attempted to perform an operation not allowed by the security policy. To grant this application the required permission please contact your system administrator or change the application's trust level in the configuration file."

Second - The Details: "System.Security.SecurityException: The source was not found, but some or all event logs could not be searched. Inaccessible logs: Security."

The Offending Line of Code: logEntry.Categories.Add("BLL")

I'm a developer run VS2008 Pro on Windows Vista Business and am attempting to run a .net app I've brought up from my XP dev machine .. running it locally (Via the option to 'View in Browser') ... runs without error on the XP machine ....

I'm logged in as a member of the admin group ... I've made the aspnet user a member of the admin group ... I've added aspnet user as a permitted user to write to the event logs via regedt32 ... I've checked the app, it runs with the highest trust level allowed ...

How do I get my app (now running wonderfully well on XP) to run on Windows Vista for Business?

May 7, 2008 at 9:48 PM
Oh, forgot to add that I've also already run the Install Instrumentation bit on the Enterprise Library patterns and practices start menu ...
May 7, 2008 at 10:19 PM
Vista runs all code in partial trust, unlike XP, where in you get full trust for locally installed code.
1 .You can either grants enough rights to your Security policy.
2. Or add Allow partially trusted callers attribute to your Entlib dlls, this needs a recompilation of your entlib.
May 8, 2008 at 6:10 PM

NeoAdroit wrote:
Vista runs all code in partial trust, unlike XP, where in you get full trust for locally installed code.
1 .You can either grants enough rights to your Security policy.