Using DataAccess Trace Listener for Logging Application Block

Topics: Logging Application Block
Apr 15, 2011 at 10:24 AM

Hi

I want to use the logging Application Block for logging in my .NET web application but I want to use DataAccess TraceListener whch will trace the logging to a Mysql Table audit_log.

I am very new to this so I dont know how to proceed. I also went through HandsOn Lab for Enterprise Library but no help. Could some giude me please? I need to do it very quickly.

Thanks in advance.

Apr 15, 2011 at 11:21 AM

Hi,

Basically, you need to create a custom database listener that handles logging to your MySql Database. Here is a sample code found on this thread

using System;
using System.Data;
using System.Data.Common;
using System.Diagnostics;
using Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Common.Configuration;
using Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data;
using Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Logging;
using Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Logging.Configuration;
using Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Logging.TraceListeners;

namespace ApplicationBlock_LoggingDrill_Basic
{
    [ConfigurationElementType(typeof(CustomTraceListenerData))]
    public class CustomDBTraceListener : CustomTraceListener
    {

public override void TraceData(TraceEventCache eventCache, string source, TraceEventType eventType, int id, object data)
        {
                  if (this.Filter == null || this.Filter.ShouldTrace(eventCache, source, eventType, id, null, null, data, null))
            {
                if (data is LogEntry && data != null)
                {

Database db = DatabaseFactory.CreateDatabase(this.Attributes["Database"]);

DbCommand cmd = db.GetStoredProcCommand(this.Attributes["WriteStoredProc"]);

LogEntry le = (LogEntry)data;
                    db.AddParameter(cmd, "severity", DbType.String, 32, ParameterDirection.Input, false, 0, 0, null, DataRowVersion.Default, le.Severity.ToString());