Can't get WCF Shielding to raise a FaultException<T>, only FaultException

Topics: Exception Handling Application Block
Nov 30, 2010 at 1:51 PM

Hi,

I'm new to the Enterprise Library, and am trying to use the Exception Handling to provide a WCF service (basic HTTP binding) with exception shielding.
I'm using v5.0 of the Enterprise Library. The WCF is hosted in IIS, and I've modified the web.config with an Exception policy so that a new exception is thrown for all cases.
When I cause the service throws an exception, I can see that Enterprise Library is using the correct policy, because of the message text on the FaultContract. But it raises a new FaultContract, rather than a FaultContract<MyException>.
I'm sure that MyException has been defined correctly; when I load the service proxy into the client app, I can see MyException in the class viewer.

My guess is that the EntLib can't find the required type of MyException to create. How can I point EntLib to the DLL / type? And I won't be able to use a strong name and put the DLL in the GAC.

So, can anyone tell me what I need to do? Futher details are below.

I'm currently testing this on a Windows 7 PC, and am hosting the WCF service in the local IIS, and I have the following files...

C:\inetpub\wwwrooot\MyProject\Services\MyService.svc
C:\inetpub\wwwrooot\MyProject\Services\Web.config
C:\inetpub\wwwrooot\MyProject\Services\Bin\MyService.dll

The exception that I'm trying to get EntLib to raise on my behalf is as follows

And below is a fragment from the web.config

<exceptionHandling>
    <exceptionPolicies>
      <add name="MyFaultPolicy">
        <exceptionTypes>
          <add name="All Exceptions" type="System.Exception, mscorlib, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089" postHandlingAction="ThrowNewException">
            <exceptionHandlers>