Usage of Validation Application block

Topics: Validation Application Block
Nov 25, 2010 at 9:35 AM

Hi,

I am new to entlib and I want to encapsulate the validation functionality inside a user defined function

with parameters specified and return true or false. can any one send me the step by step procedure for it.

Thanks in advance

dodda

Nov 25, 2010 at 9:53 AM

This is the basic code for validation:

ValidationResults results = Validation.Validate(objectInstance);

The indication if there are any validation errors is in the IsValid property of the ValidationResults object.   So basically, that's just what you need to put in your function, add parameter for the actual object to validate and return results.IsValid.

Note that in version lower than 5.0, the ValidationValidate() method validates the passed object based on the type which it is declared as, thus if your method uses the type Object as the parameter type, the validation ruls that it will look for is the one which is configured of type Object.  However, this was changed in version 5.0.  It will be validated using validation rules based on its actual type.  Thus, if the actual type is of type Customer, it will be validated based on rule set defined for Customer type even if it was passed as of type Object.

Sarah Urmeneta
Global Technologies and Solutions
Avanade, Inc.
entlib.support@avanade.com

Nov 25, 2010 at 10:02 AM

Hi,

Thanks for the reply and right now I write the code like this

<StringLengthValidator(1, 50, MessageTemplate:="Name must be between 1 and 50 characters")> _
    Public Property Name() As String
        Get
            Return _name
        End Get
        Set(ByVal value As String)
            _name = value
        End Set
    End Property

my question is, how can i write the code as a function with a scope to pass the parameters

Nov 25, 2010 at 10:04 AM