Activation error occured while trying to get instance of type ExceptionManager, key is killing me!

Topics: Exception Handling Application Block, Logging Application Block
Oct 11, 2010 at 1:38 PM

Help!

I'm new to the enterprise library and I am currently trying to integrate the exception and logging blocks into my application but no matter what I do, once the configuration is happy, I get the error:

Resolution of the dependency failed, type = "Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.ExceptionHandling.ExceptionManager", name = "(none)".
Exception occurred while: while resolving.
Exception is: InvalidOperationException - The type ExceptionManager cannot be constructed. You must configure the container to supply this value.
-----------------------------------------------
At the time of the exception, the container was:

Resolving Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.ExceptionHandling.ExceptionManager,(none)

{"Activation error occured while trying to get instance of type ExceptionManager, key \"\""}

When it executes the line:

exManager = EnterpriseLibraryContainer.Current.GetInstance<ExceptionManager>();

Am I missing something fairly fundamental here?

Any pointers would be great or if anyone has a basic example solution of what needs to be set up that would help.

Thanks

Oct 11, 2010 at 6:27 PM

This is typically caused when the system is using a configuration file different than the one you think it's using. Where (which assembly) is the code calling Entlib, and what config file do you want it to be pulling from?

Oct 12, 2010 at 10:00 AM

Thanks for responding!

You could be right, I have managed to solve my issues and get the project going, here is a list of things I had to correct:

I wanted to use a quick start to get a basic pattern in place an modify. The RC samples library with V5 just wouldn't work for me. I used a sample from 4.1 and had to adapt.

Changes to get working:

• Remove all traces of EntLib 4.1 from my machine.