Which codes needed in Using Logging Application Block

Topics: Logging Application Block
Jan 28, 2008 at 8:33 AM

hi everybody,

I wanna use Logging Application Block(LAB) with my multi tier Application(6 tier) which contain Client & Server, and each of them(Client & Server) has its own Configuration File,

I'm Completely new to EL v3.0, what I Undestand from Logging Application Block is that it produce or change the config files, depends on our changes in Enteprise Library Configuration, and then what programming in my application is needed? (ofcourse I mean after adding necessary references)

does any one can help me, about what should i do exactly to use this LAB for my application to produce some kind of logs, not just in eventLog!, I wanna produce for example 3 different logs, for debugging, Error, and tracing my App taransaction with database, furthermore i wanna produce these logs in textfiles and also to one table in my database.
i dont know what codes are necessary in my program, and whether the server or client or both Config File should have changes?
thanks,

elham

Jan 28, 2008 at 4:35 PM
You can start by looking at the Logging Block's scenarios in the help file and the Logging quick starts that you can install through the source code installer.
To specify the configuration for the block, using the EntLib configuration tool is usually the easiest way.

You'll need to add calls to one of the overrides for the Logger.Write() method. Which override to use depends on how much information you want to log. Your apps' configuration settings will determine how these entries will be logged: destination, formatting, etc.

Fernando
Jan 28, 2008 at 10:00 PM
Edited Jan 28, 2008 at 10:07 PM