Topics: Enterprise Library Core
Oct 12, 2007 at 7:40 PM
I have a question about packaging up the EntLibConfig.exe application. Essentially, I need to know if there are any dependency files or helper files that I should/need to include when I package the exe with our setup. Can anyone field this off the top of their head?

Roger Sutter
Oct 12, 2007 at 8:24 PM
Ok, I think I solved this one. If you look in the ..\src\Configuration\Console\bin\Debug folder, it lists all the files that it references. Ergo, I'm assuming these are the files that I need to include when I package EntLibConfig.exe.

If I am wrong, feel free to step in and correct me as I am fairly new to Visual Studio.
Oct 13, 2007 at 6:04 AM
The config tool requires just the following assemblies to run:
  • EntLibConfig.exe
  • Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Common.dll
  • Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Configuration.Design.dll
  • Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Configuration.Design.HostAdapter.dll
  • Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Configuration.Design.UI.dll
  • Microsoft.Practices.ObjectBuilder.dll

However with just this set of assemblies, it won't actually do anything useful, since the other .Configuration.Design.dll assemblies (which have dependencies of their own) provide the functionality to configure the individual blocks. Unless you have a very good reason not to, it's generally best to include the entire set of assemblies from the default bin directory.

Feb 20, 2009 at 8:14 PM
We are working on deploying Enterprise Library 4.1 to the GAC (MS signed version) and are having issues with EntLibConfig.