getting output parameter value from DAAB without using DbCommand ? plz guide

Topics: Data Access Application Block
Jan 12, 2010 at 7:40 AM
Edited Jan 12, 2010 at 10:17 AM

Hi,

thanks for your attention and time, I need your help plz on writing DAAB code.

I am new to using DAAB, I found two ways to using it:

1. Using IDataReader with DBCommand and Database (db) class like:

DbCommand dbCommand = db.GetStoredProcCommand(sqlCommand);
db.AddInParameter(dbCommand, “EmployeeID”, DbType.Int32, 1);
db.AddOutParameter(dbCommand, “NationalIDNumber”, DbType.String, 15);

2. Using IDataReader without using DBCommand but with using Database class.

Using 1st way we have to put parameters one by one but by using way 2 allow without declaring parameters like:

db.ExecuteNonQuery("p_individualaccount_personaldetails",parameter1, parameter2,parameter3);

Way 2 is good as it give flexibility not to declare parameters but I am not getting how to get output parameter from it ? Please guide me on that.

thanks

Jan 12, 2010 at 8:08 AM

Hi,

This thread is somehow related http://entlib.codeplex.com/Thread/View.aspx?ThreadId=64867 . But I dont see a way that will enable you to retrieve a out parameter without declaring a DbCommand instance. Since that the DbCommand instance is a parameter when retrieving the out parameter from the Database class. From the method Database.GetParameterValue(...) See this:

Database db = DatabaseFactory.CreateDatabase();
            DbCommand cmd = db.GetStoredProcCommand("INSERT_PROJECT");
            db.AddInParameter(cmd, "@ProjectName", DbType.String, "Dudz2");
            db.AddOutParameter(cmd, "@ProjectID", DbType.Int32, 0);
            db.ExecuteNonQuery(cmd);

int projectID = Convert.ToInt32((db.GetParameterValue(cmd, @"ProjectID")));