EntLib5 DAAB Accessors and Interfaces

Topics: Data Access Application Block, Pre-release discussions
Jan 2, 2010 at 4:41 AM

I hope this is the place to post this.

I have been doing some playing around and trying to use EntLib 5 and the new accessors that are available.  I am trying to do this: 

1: var db = EnterpriseLibraryContainer.Current.GetInstance<Database>();
<!--CRLF-->
   2: var salesperson = db.ExecuteSprocAccessor<ISalesPerson>("[Sales].[SalesPerson_GetByBusinessEntityId]", new SalesPersonFactory(), 288).SingleOrDefault();
<!--CRLF-->

The issues that I am having is my factories uses interfaces and it looks like the accessors require that the classes be passed in have constructors.  I can understand this since the factories are optional.  I guess I have 2 thoughts:

1. Could you not use Unity to create the instance of the type being passed in?  That way I could define the mapping for ISalesPerson within Unity.  I am not an expert at unity and not sure what challenges this would add.  I use unity to create my entities now and I just use a wrapper Dependency.Resolve(ISalesPerson).
  2. If the type being passed in is ISalesPerson and a factory isn't provided, throw an exception if it doesn't implement a parameterless constructor.  i think it would be pretty understandable if you didn't pass something in that wasn't constructable to expect an exception.

I would be interested to know if you all have considered this and maybe share some of your thoughts. I got this working for me by taking the latest code for EntLib5 and commenting out the "where TResult : new()" in a few places.  Everything seems to work ok without this in there in both the scenario where I don't provide a constructor and where I do.

Thanks

jeff

Jan 5, 2010 at 1:05 AM
Edited Jan 6, 2010 at 9:39 AM

[updated]

Ok, I looked into the code but I think the EntLib team could provide you a better insight.  I'll redirect this to them.

Sarah Urmeneta
Global Technology and Solutions