Security App Block - Customized auth and role provider

Topics: Building and extending application blocks, Cryptography Application Block, Security Application Block
Dec 2, 2009 at 2:15 AM

I am creating a database driven ASP.Net web application that will be used over the internet. Thus security in the application will play a major role.

I already have a forms authentication login wired to a custom SQL server table. I also have custom security and roles tables setup in the same SQL server for authorization and roles. 

I have already implemented the data access block into my application.

This is my first time using the security application block. I have searched all over the internet and have yet to find a good article or example on how I can use my custom security and authentication tables and code via the security application block.

If someone can point me to an example of how I can use my custom tables for login, authorization and roles with the security application block that would be great! I am little new to Object oriented classes and such thus I am struggling to understand how to extend/customize the security application block for my needs.

Thanks! 

Dec 2, 2009 at 3:18 AM

These might get you started...

http://www.education.vic.gov.au/devreskit/appdev/Application%20Blocks/Security/security-standards-details.htm

http://www.education.vic.gov.au/devreskit/appdev/Application%20Blocks/Security/security-standards-details.htm

Sarah Urmeneta
Global Technology & Solutions
Avanade, Inc.

entlib.support@avanade.com

Dec 3, 2009 at 12:28 AM

Thanks for the links. I reviewed them and they did help. I actually read something similar in a book I found online.

The one thing I simply just cannot understand is in order to implement my custom auth and role provider logic, do I  a) Add the suggested custom class/code into the security application block or b) write this code into my web application and leave the security application block "as-is"?