Runtime selection of FileName

Topics: Logging Application Block
Nov 26, 2009 at 3:10 AM

Hello All,

I am fairly new to the application blocks and the reason i wanted to use this is to 'Not reinvent the wheel'. I have a scenario which i dont seem to find a solution for, and any advice is much appreciated.

I have a ftp location where my clients transfer files to. Each client is given a specific location and each transfer is in a directory by itself. for ex.

FTP

CLIENT 1

BATCH 1

BATCH 2

CLIENT 2

BATCH 1

etc.

I have a filesystem monitor that checks for the new in-coming file / folder and runs a specific program against it. The output of the processing is written into the respective folders as a log file. I thought i can change the filename property of the FlatfileTraceListener for each batch i pick up. Clearly i have misunderstood something. Can someone show me a way out?

thanks, Hari.

Nov 26, 2009 at 5:34 AM

Hi,

Have you came across this one: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd203211.aspx

Valiant Dudan
Global Technology and Solutions
Avanade, Inc.
entlib.support@avanade.com

Nov 26, 2009 at 6:23 AM
Edited Nov 26, 2009 at 7:09 AM

Hi there! 

Thanks for the prompt reply. I did come across this link, but i presumed that the save method will alter the configuration file permanently.

ok, i tried the example. But i am not sure how to proceed using it for the implementation i am after. the pseudocode is as below. Any advice is much appreciated.

Class Batch holds an array list of new folders getting added.

Every 2 hours, i loop through the array list

for each folder in arraylist

extract the data from the batch

insert into db

write the progress into a txt file within the folder... this is where i intend to say - listener.filename = folder; logger.write(...) or something like that.

next.

oh by the way, this runs as a windows service.

thanks, hari

Nov 27, 2009 at 2:34 AM