Where i can get details about LogEntry Members

Topics: Logging Application Block
Oct 9, 2009 at 5:54 AM

hi,

I am new to Enterprise Logging.  I want to get the details about LogEntry class and its Members.

Can any one tell me the url.

Thanks in Advance!

Regards,

Baskaran R

Oct 9, 2009 at 6:14 AM

I can't find the url but if you installed enterprise library in your machine, it's available in the documentation.  Just go to the Index tab and search for LogEntry.

Sarah Urmeneta
Global Technology and Solutions
Avanade, Inc.
entlib.support@avanade.com

Oct 9, 2009 at 11:52 AM

Hi,

Where we have to specify the listener name to write the log.

I have developed two classes Class1.cs and Class2.cs file with Enterprise Logging.

I want to write Class1.cs logs to one log file and Class2.cs logs to another log file.

Is it possible?

Thanks in Advance!

Oct 12, 2009 at 3:58 AM

Yes it is possible. You would need to create 2 category, ex: Class1Category and Class2Category. You would also need to add the tracelisteners, and associate them with your category. ex: I add a flatfile trace listener then associate it with the Class1Category and add another tracelistener and associate it with Class2Category.

To associate a listener to a Category:

1. Add a category.
  2. In the category, right-click > New > Trace Listener Reference
  3. In the property of the Trace Listener Reference, select the tracelistener that you want to associate.
  4. Save.

Valiant Dudan
Avanade, Inc.

Oct 12, 2009 at 5:29 AM
Edited Oct 12, 2009 at 6:57 AM

Thanks a lot.

One more doubt here.

Two teams working in a .net project.  We want to maintain a separate Config file for our <loggingConfiguration> like <appSettings file="appSettingsConf.Config"/>.

And also one more team maintaing their <loggingConfiguration> enteries in Web.Config.  Is it possible to have <loggingConfiguration> in Web.config and also in Separate Config file. 

Thanks in advance!

Oct 12, 2009 at 6:53 AM

Hi,