Customizing the DatabaseTraceListener

Topics: Building and extending application blocks, Logging Application Block
Jul 17, 2009 at 1:14 PM

I am using EntLib 4.1 and have been struggling with creating a custom DatabaseTraceListener to log data to our database. I could really use some guidance (either in the form of better documentation for creating a custom DatabaseTraceListener or direct help) as I am new to using the EntLib.

What I am trying to do it as follows:

• Create 2 subclasses of LogEntry (LogEntryType1 & LogEntryType2). The reason for this is I need to log 2 different types of data to 2 different tables in our database (LogEntryType1 = record of who performed what; LogEntryType2 = application diagnostics & trace messages). When we need to log either type of entry, we simply create the required LogEntryType* object and pass it as the parameter to the Logger.
  • Create a custom DatabaseTraceListener based almost entirely on the provided one, except in the ‘ExecuteStoredProcedure( LogEntry )’ method, check the type of the LogEntry object passed in and call the proper Stored Procedure.
  • The desire would be to also have the ability to configure the names of the Stored Procedures and the Data Source through the EntLib Configuration editor (just like the existing DatabaseTraceListener).

I would appreciate any guidance that can be provided, even if it’s a link to a good article online about this subject as my searching has not produced the desired results. I find a lot of articles that say "Just inherit from CustomTraceListener, override these methods, and your good", but 95% of the functionality that I want is already in the current DatabaseTraceListener but it inherits from a different base class and I can't seem to get all of the pieces put together properly.

Jul 20, 2009 at 9:41 AM

Hi,