How to customize logging format of the exceptions caught using EL 4.1?

Topics: Exception Handling Application Block, Logging Application Block
Jun 3, 2009 at 3:53 AM

Hi,

I'm new to EL.

Our requirement is to log exceptions in DB and EventLog in a specific customized format

ErrorCode

ErrorMessage

ErrorSource

CategoryID

StackTrace

How can this be achieved?

Also, when trying to Log into the DB, how can i find out whether the logging was successful or not? Could it be handled?

Jun 3, 2009 at 4:12 AM

To achieve the format you want, you only need to modify your tracelistener's Format.Template property.  There are tokens inserting new line - {newline} and tabs - {tab} there.   For your second question, there's no support for determining if logging succeeded but if there are exceptions during logging, it will be logged depending on what tracelistener you specify under the Logging Errors and Warnings section.

Sarah Urmeneta
Global Technology and Solutions
Avanade, Inc.
entlib.support@avanade.com

Jun 3, 2009 at 4:18 AM

Thanks for the reply Sarah.

Regarding the second part, currently i am logging the exception into the AppServer's EventLog if the DB logging failed. But by requirement, if the logging into the Server's eventlog failes due to some network issues, i am supposed to log into the Client machine's eventlog. Any inputs on how this culd be achieved?

Jun 3, 2009 at 4:24 AM

Then adding a FormattedEventLog TraceListener (which points to the client machine's eventlog) under the Logging Errors and Warnings would achieve the behavior you want.  You can also add the same FormattedEventLog TraceListener to the category to which your other formattedeventlog tracelistener belongs to but take note that it will log to both listeners regardless whether the first one fails or not.

Sarah Urmeneta
Avanade, Inc.

Jun 3, 2009 at 4:51 AM

:) Thanks Sarah. Think this would solve my problem for now.