ResolutionFailedException: Resolution of the dependency failed... The type Database cannot be constructed

Topics: Enterprise Library Core
Mar 27, 2014 at 5:46 PM
Hello,

Thank you for reviewing my question. First, I am a novice with Enterprise Library. I updated an existing program to .NET 4.0, Visual Studio 2013 and to a new version of the Enterprise Library v5.0 (previously used 4.0).

I can run the VB website without any issue on my desktop but when I deploy it to our Windows Server 2003 I get the following errors. I installed .NET 4.0 and the Enterprise Library 5.0 onto the server but get the error message.

ResolutionFailedException: Resolution of the dependency failed, type = "Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data.Database", name = "(none)".
Exception occurred while: while resolving.
Exception is: InvalidOperationException - The type Database cannot be constructed. You must configure the container to supply this value.

My 'web.config' file contains the following:

<configuration>
<configSections>
    <section name="dataConfiguration" type="Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data.Configuration.DatabaseSettings, Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data, Version=5.0.414.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35" requirePermission="true"/>
    <section name="oracleConnectionSettings" type="Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data.Oracle.Configuration.OracleConnectionSettings, Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data, Version=5.0.414.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35" requirePermission="true"/>
</configSections>
<dataConfiguration defaultDatabase="OracleTP">
    <providerMappings>
        <add databaseType="Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data.Oracle.OracleDatabase, Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data, Version=5.0.414.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35" name="Oracle.ManagedDataAccess.Client"/>
    </providerMappings>
</dataConfiguration>
<oracleConnectionSettings>
    <add name="OracleTP"/>