Validation Application block in web.config

Topics: Validation Application Block
Mar 16, 2009 at 6:23 AM
Hi,
I am a beginner to EntLib. I have installed Enterprise libraray 4.1. I am using a validation application block and validating some properties of my Business Entities like EmpName,EmpID,Salary etc through web.config in my web application . My Business Entity is a C# Class Library.
I have created a Ranga Validator for length range between 2-8 characters and also a String Length Validator. But it validates even when I enter values between the specified Range.
this is the code: 

string

[] split = b1.ToString().Split(new char[] { ',' });

//b1 is a string builder whcih gets the values of all the textboxes
int
c1;

for (c1 = 0; c1 < split.Length; c1++)

{

objBE.EmpID =

int.Parse(split[0].ToString());

objBE.Name = split[1].ToString();

objBE.Exp = split[2].ToString();

objBE.Grade = split[3].ToString();

objBE.Salary= split[4].ToString();

objBE.EmpDept = split[5].ToString();

c1 = split.Length;

break;
}

ValidationResults

results = Validation.Validate<EmployeeBE>(objBE, "Default");

if (!results.IsValid)

{

foreach (ValidationResult re in results)

{

Response.Write(re.Message);

}

}

else

{

//here i am saving the data in a table.

}

Please tell me why it is validating even if I enter the correct Range or length of the string.
Thanks in advance.

Mar 16, 2009 at 6:41 AM
Edited Mar 16, 2009 at 6:42 AM
Did you specified the default rule set of the class?  You can check this by selecting the class in the validation section, look for the Default Ruleset property.

Sarah Urmeneta
Global Technology & Solutions
Avanade, Inc.
entlib.support@avanade.com
Mar 16, 2009 at 6:51 AM
Yes, I have specified the rule set as a Default.
Mar 16, 2009 at 7:12 AM