Security Application Block & Memebership

Topics: Security Application Block
Jan 23, 2009 at 6:08 PM
Hi,

I am new to the Security Application Block and would like to know if the I want to use the Security Application Block for my web application
do I  need use the System.Web.Security.Membership provider?  or I can use the Security Application Block without it?

Thanks
Jan 26, 2009 at 6:50 AM
Hi,

It depends on how would you like to use Security Application Block. Here, take a look at this, this might explain more. Also, read the documentation and try out the quick starts, that surely gets you started.
http://www.codeplex.com/entlib/Thread/View.aspx?ThreadId=14874

Valiant Dudan
Global Technology and Solutions
Avanade, Inc.
entlib.support@avanade.com

Jan 27, 2009 at 4:19 PM
Hi Valiant,

Thank you for your response, however after reading the thread proposed I am still not clear about the discussion,  I think I am still missing something...

I wanted to use the Sec App Block  (SAB)  for my web application. Is  it mandatory to use it with the membership provided with ASP.NET?

In another words,  Do I need to use asp.net MemeberShipProvider (as is)  or inherit the MemeberShipProvider  abstract class ( if i need to customize)
and have the implementation of the ValidateUser method  in order to use the SAB?   

Thanks In Advance

Jan 28, 2009 at 5:22 AM
Hi,

Are you implementing a Role base security in your Web Application?

Valiant Dudan
Avanade, Inc.
Jan 28, 2009 at 1:21 PM
Hi Valiant,

For now we do not have a role base in our web application; it is public and required authentication to access certain pages ( like user account )

However we are thinking to incorporate an admin module to the site in the future which require an role base.

Thanks

Jan 29, 2009 at 9:31 AM
No, it's not mandatory.  If you're going to customize, you can always create your own AuthorizationProvider.  But nothing stops you from using it with SAB.  Check out the quickstarts.

Sarah Urmeneta