Enterprise Library 6.0 - Error Logging to a database

Topics: Data Access Application Block, Logging Application Block
May 2, 2013 at 6:53 PM
I'm new to enterprise library, and I'm attempting to log a test message to the local sql server database.

Yesterday, I was able to log a message to a rolling flat file, by using the Edit Server Configuration File Editor to create code for web.config and then executing the below lines of C#

using System;
using System.ComponentModel.DataAnnotations;
using System.Web.DynamicData;
using System.Diagnostics;
using System.Configuration;
using Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Logging;
using Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Logging.Database;
using Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data;
using Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Common.Configuration;
using Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Common;

namespace Test_Environment
public partial class _Default : System.Web.UI.Page

protected void Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
        System.Collections.IList visibleTables = Global.DefaultModel.VisibleTables;
        if (visibleTables.Count == 0)
            throw new InvalidOperationException("There are no accessible tables. Make sure that at least one data model is registered in Global.asax and scaffolding is enabled or implement custom pages.");
        Menu1.DataSource = visibleTables;

LogEntry logEntry = new LogEntry { Message = "Error Message", Severity = TraceEventType.Error };
        Logger.SetLogWriter(new LogWriterFactory().Create());

I then used the configuration editor to create new xml code for web.config to log to a database. My config file is below.

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<!-- For more information on Entity Framework configuration, visit http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=237468 -->
<section name="entityFramework" type="System.Data.Entity.Internal.ConfigFile.EntityFrameworkSection, EntityFramework, Version=, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089" requirePermission="false"/>