Can't write to Event Log

Topics: Logging Application Block
Nov 19, 2008 at 4:45 PM
Hi,

This is my first time using Enterprize Libraries and after reading all that it has to offer, I've set out to implement some of its features in our BizTalk Applications. Specifically the Application Logging Block. I am using version 4.1.

My problem is that I cant get anything to write to the Event Log.  I've created the config file which i then added to the BizTalk BTSNTSvc.exe.config. After fixing several permission problems my application runs and throws no errors which would indicate that the write to the Event Log is failing. 

The following is the line i sent to the logger write function : 

Logger

.Write(strMessage, "Hatch.BizTalk.Router", iPriority, iEventID, convertedEventType, "EXTRA STUFF");

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Greg

Nov 20, 2008 at 2:41 AM
Could you post your logging configuration section here?

Sarah Urmeneta
Global Technology & Solutions
Avanade, Inc.
entlib.support@avanade.com
Nov 20, 2008 at 12:46 PM
Edited Nov 20, 2008 at 2:50 PM
The following is the config file; 

<?xml version="1.0" ?>

<configuration>

<configSections>

<section name="loggingConfiguration" type="Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Logging.Configuration.LoggingSettings, Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Logging, Version=4.1.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35" requirePermission="false"/>

<section name="dataConfiguration" type="Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data.Configuration.DatabaseSettings, Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data, Version=4.1.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35" requirePermission="false"/>

</configSections>

<loggingConfiguration name="Logging Application Block" tracingEnabled="true"

defaultCategory="General" logWarningsWhenNoCategoriesMatch="true">

<listeners>

<add source="Enterprise Library Logging" formatter="Text Formatter"