Best Practice for EL logging and exception handling in a web application

Topics: Exception Handling Application Block, Logging Application Block
Sep 21, 2012 at 4:40 PM

Hi all,  I am fairly new to EL and have been looking to no avail for best practices regarding using the EL Logging and Exception blocks with a Web application.  The web application that we have is ASP .Net 4.5, MVC 4.0 and has a very heavy javascript front end.  I am tasked with handling the logging and exceptions in a user friendly way and am wondering if there are best practices for this. 

I am thinking that I should probably consider doing the following.

Create the ExceptionManager and LoggingManager in the Global.asax.cs Application_Start method.  Create a fault contract to use with my RESTful service that is returning JSON data to the client.

Thanks

Sep 24, 2012 at 5:03 AM

Unfortunately, I don't think there are specific guidelines for different scenarios.  In general, Enterprise Library is trying to address best practices through reusable components & infrastructure.  The reason why there are not specific recommendations is that, like many things in software, the answer is: "it depends".

It depends on the overall application architecture and design and how you value certain application attributes (e.g. security, scalability, manageability, time, etc.).  It depends on potential, specific non-functional requirements of the application.  For example, I would say that logging is a best practice and, to that end, Enterprise Library provides a (very nice) means to achieve that.  That still leaves open the question of what to log, when to log, where to log, how configurable it should be, etc.