Licence question...

Jun 7, 2012 at 12:47 AM

What exactly does this means?

If you distribute any portion of the software in compiled or object code form, you may only do so under a license that complies with this license.

what does complies means here?

Jun 7, 2012 at 4:47 AM

For the record, you are talking about the Microsoft Public License (Ms-PL) under which Enterprise Library is licensed.  

Typically complies is defined as "conforms" or in "accordance with".  With that said, I am not a Lawyer and I have no knowledge of the laws in your (or any other!) jurisdiction.  

See: for a similar question.

The license appears to be quite permissive; perhaps if you could outline a specific scenario it might help?

Randy Levy
Enterprise Library support engineer 

Jun 7, 2012 at 3:20 PM

We would like to use EntLib, however our legal told us there is an issue with the license because it might suggest that our code might to be open source. We are planning to ship compiled code, and we would like to use EntLib, what would we need to do to be able to do this without violating the license agreement, and how can we can get a written letter for our legal department so they feel comfortable with the license considering the language used can be interpreted differently.

Jun 7, 2012 at 3:56 PM

I'm not a lawyer, but that's not how it reads to me.  What you describe sounds more like the Microsoft Reciprocal License.

The Ms-PL has 2 grants: a copyright grant to reproduce the contribution and a patent grant to allow royalty-free use of any patents.

The conditions and limitations are:

(A) No Trademark License- This license does not grant you rights to use any contributors' name, logo, or trademarks.

So you can't use names, logos and trademarks associated with the product.

(B) If you bring a patent claim against any contributor over patents that you claim are infringed by the software, your patent license from such contributor to the software ends automatically.