Topics: Building and extending application blocks, Logging Application Block, Silverlight Integration Pack
Mar 7, 2012 at 6:31 PM

I am new to Enterprise library and was trying to learn by following the example in the Developer guide (Enterprise Library 5.0 Silverlight Integration Pack - May 2011 - Release Candidate) for creating a remote logging service.  When I get to step - Configure the Logging Application Block to Use the Remote Service Trace Listener , I don't find the menu Add Logging Settings for silverlight in my enterprise library configuration tool and hence cannot add the remote service trace listener.  I have installed the Enterprise Library 5.0 Optional Update 1.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Mar 8, 2012 at 7:26 PM

How are you launching the configuration tool?  Try using the configuration tool link located at:

Start->All Programs->Microsoft patterns & practices->Enterprise Library 5.0 Silverlight Integration Pack->Enterprise Library Configuration->EntLib Config for Silverlight

This will use the Silverlight specific profile.

Or if you launch from within Visual Studio using "Edit Enterprise Library V5 Configuration" it should give all of the configuration types (desktop and Silverlight).

Randy Levy
Enterprise Library support engineer 

Feb 15, 2013 at 4:16 PM
I am having similar issues and also have the Optional Update 1 installed.

I don't see the the 'EntLib Config for Silverlight' link in the start menu (see the following URL for a screenshot).

From within Visual Studio 2012, I only see links for 'Edit Server configuration file'.

Do you know what the problem might be?

Many thanks,

Feb 21, 2013 at 2:53 AM
That first posted image is strange since below Release Notes there should be a folder called "Enterprise Library Configuration" which contains a link called "EntLib Config for Silverlight".

That shortcut runs the following command (for a default installation):