Correct method of installing an ASP.NET Event Log logging source

Topics: Logging Application Block
Jun 13, 2008 at 1:39 PM
Edited Jun 13, 2008 at 1:41 PM

Hello

I am trying to use the Logging Application Block to log unhandled exceptions in my ASP.NET web site. And using the LAB, I am trying to write to the Windows event log.

It works on my development machine all by itself, obviously because I am an administrator.

I then added a custom install action to iterate and install the event logs necesarry as per ploeh's post here: http://blogs.msdn.com/ploeh/archive/2007/09/20/InstallingEventSourcesForTheLoggingApplicationBlock.aspx

When I deploy to my server, the install succeeds, and my event log is visible, but when I attempt to write to it I get the following error:

The description for Event ID ( 1 ) in Source ( Enterprise Library Logging ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event: Message: A test error

And then it gives my entire log text

My question is twofold:
1.) Am I trying to install the logs incorrectly?
2.) If not, what permissions should I be checking, or how do I try to work out why the LAB cannot resolve the message ID?

I have tried editing my registry permissions and entries, but with no success.

Please help :-D

Thanks,
Joon

Jun 13, 2008 at 2:42 PM

Joonr wrote:

When I deploy to my server, the install succeeds, and my event log is visible, but when I attempt to write to it I get the following error: