Exception merging Configuration Files

Topics: Logging Application Block
Nov 18, 2011 at 9:36 AM

Hi, this is a long story, you might want to get a cup of tea.

Okay, so I am trying to write an application using Silverlight, Prism, and EntLib for my Logging and Exception handling.

I've got most of the pieces to play together and as this is my first time using the Enterprise Library I decided to use the
StockTraderRI as my guidance.

As in the StocktraderRI project I am also downloading Xaml Configuration file and this is where I'm experiencing the problem.

My code for merging the Files. (I've marker where the exception occurs with a arrow <--)

private void MergeXamlFile(string xamlFileContent)
{
    var content = (IDictionary)XamlReader.Load(xamlFileContent); <--
    foreach (var key in content.Keys.OfType<string>())
    {
        var section = content[key] as ConfigurationSection;
        if (section != null)
        {
            this.mergedConfiguration.Add(key, section);
        }
    }
}

The Exception message is : Failed to create a 'Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Logging.Service.ILoggingServiceFactory' from the text 'LoggingServiceEndPoint'. [Line: 9 Position: 85]

The line in the xaml configuration file is below, when I remove it, I don't get and exception. (marked with an arrow -->)

<el:ConfigurationDictionary xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml/presentation" 
                    xmlns:x="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml" 
                    xmlns:el="http://schemas.microsoft.com/practices/2011/entlib"
                    xmlns:inf="clr-namespace:StockTraderRI.Infrastructure.ExceptionHandling;assembly=StockTraderRI.Infrastructure">
    <el:LoggingSettings DefaultCategory="default" x:Key="loggingConfiguration" LogWarningWhenNoCategoriesMatch="False">
        <el:LoggingSettings.TraceListeners>
            <el:NotificationTraceListenerData Name="event"/>