Extending Logging Help Needed

Topics: Building and extending application blocks, Data Access Application Block, General discussion, Logging Application Block
May 5, 2008 at 8:34 PM
I am fairly new to Ent. Lib. Have used the generic functions for both daab and lab. I have a requirement to only log specialize information into specific columns in the database. I had considered direct coding, but we also want the ability to e-mail and/or write to a file. These are Ent. Lib. strong suites.

I figured we would just subclass the LogEntry to add specific Extended Properties. That seems to be working fine. However, I need to reference a tracelistener and formatter to format and call the stored procedure. Here I have run into some trouble.

I am using Ent. Lib. 3.1. I have tried to copy the enterprise library's FormattedDatabaseTraceListener to create a customized listener that is writing to a Ent Lib Daab object.

The code is sound, I have compiled the configuration classes. However, I cannot get them to work in the ent. lib. manager for a separate project.

I have tried the Application Block Software Factory, but is does not deal with database tracelisteners.

Also, I have tried to use the AppBlock help throught VS 2005, but all the links point to the April release. All online help, <through search engines> have brought back only C# coding examples and all seem to reference an old "GotDotNet" site that is no longer available.

Any help here would be appreciated.

Thanks.
May 6, 2008 at 1:00 PM

There might be a much simpler way to extend database trace listener to perform
"...I have a requirement to only log specialize information into specific columns in the database..."