CustomTraceListener unresolved

Topics: Building and extending application blocks, Enterprise Library Core, Logging Application Block
Aug 31, 2011 at 4:41 PM

im new to Enterprise Library (5, with the optional update), and am trying to use my own CustomTraceListener with the Logging Block.

Logging works with a supplied flat file listener, but i dont seem to be able to extend that to my custom class.

Logs to FlatFileListener, but Not to my CustomListener:

static UnityContainer _container;

static LogWriter _writer;

internal static void Inf(this string message)

{

if (_container == null)

{
            _container
= new UnityContainer();
            _container
.AddNewExtension<EnterpriseLibraryCoreExtension>();

}

if (_writer == null && _container != null)

{
            _writer
= _container.Resolve<LogWriter>();

LogEntry log = new LogEntry();
            log
.Message = message;
            log
.Categories.Add("Information");
            log
.Severity = TraceEventType.Information;
            _writer
.Write(log);

}

}

My CustomListener based on bychkov:

namespace Test.Catch
{

[ConfigurationElementType(typeof(CustomTraceListenerData))]

public class LoggerCustom : CustomTraceListener

{

public override void TraceData(TraceEventCache eventCache, string source, TraceEventType eventType, int id, object data)

{

if (data is LogEntry && this.Formatter != null)

{

this.WriteLine(this.Formatter.Format(data as LogEntry));

} else

{

this.WriteLine(data.ToString());

}

}

public override void Write(string message)

{

Trace.Write(message);

}

public override void WriteLine(string message)

{

Trace.WriteLine(message);

}

}
}

First i tried to add the customtracelistener with the Configuration Editor, but the configuration editor did not list/detect any customtracelisteners, which i suspect is part, or whole of the problem?

So instead, i added the following, again, based on bychkov:

app.config listener manual addition