Invalid Exception Formatter

Topics: Exception Handling Application Block
Aug 2, 2011 at 5:23 PM

Hi all,

I have created a custom exception formatter which extends TextExceptionFormatter. I have defined all the required constructors and overridden all abstract methods. I am using Enterprise Library 5.0.

Now when I try to use the dll in my project in FormatterType property of LoggingException Handler it gives me Invalid Exception Formatter error.

I am a beginner and this is the first time i have customized the enterprise library. Please do reply with your valuable suggestions. 

When creating the dll is there some settings i have to do?

Should the namespace of the class be same as other exception formatter class

Thanks in advance

Aug 3, 2011 at 5:54 AM

Hi,

You can try to inherit from ExceptionFormatter instead. I recommend you to take a look on the Enterprise Library source code on how the TextExceptionFormatter has been implemented so that you can have a better idea. Let me know if you have further questions.

Noel Angelo Bolasoc
Global Technologies and Solutions
Avanade, Inc.
Contact Us

Aug 3, 2011 at 6:56 AM
Edited Aug 3, 2011 at 9:05 AM

I have already gone through the source code of TextExceptionFormatter, the problem I am getting is when I try to use my custom exception formatter as the FormatterType in my logging exception handler as I mentioned earlier.

The Xml line which gives error is:-

<exceptionHandling>
    <exceptionPolicies>
      <add name="ExceptionLogging">
        <exceptionTypes>
          <add name="All Exceptions" type="System.Exception, mscorlib, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089"
            postHandlingAction="NotifyRethrow">
            <exceptionHandlers>