PropertyComparisonValidator - Failure to retrieve comparand for key

Topics: Validation Application Block
Apr 17, 2008 at 5:03 PM
I'm new to the validation blocks, trying to evaluate their suitability for our environment. I have fund a basic bloker which probably means I'm not using it correctly.

I have followed the documentation sample for the PropertyComparisonValidator ie:

public class AuctionItem
{
public double MinimimumBid
{
get
{
return minimumBid;
}
}
[PropertyComparisonValidator("MinimumBid",
ComparisonOperator.GreaterThanEqual)]
public double CurrentBid
{
get
{
return currentBid;
}
}

// ...
}

And also tried this using the xml config approach. However either way I get this type of message...

Failure to retrieve comparand for key "ValidationAmountMax": The property name "ValidationAmountMax" is not mapped to validators in the naming context..

In this case ValidationAmountMax is the property I'm comparing to (equiv MinimumBid), and the attribute is applied to an Amount property which has a text box in the aspx page:

<cc1:PropertyProxyValidator ID="txtAmountValidator" runat="server" ControlToValidate="txtAmount"
PropertyName="Amount" RulesetName="RuleSetStep2"
SourceTypeName="ValidationQuickStart.BusinessEntities.BuyInstruction"></cc1:PropertyProxyValidator>

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

Ray
Apr 17, 2008 at 9:02 PM
Hi Ray,

I see that you're using the ASP.NET integration. When you're using it, and because of where validation happens in the lifecycle of an ASP.NET request (http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms178472.aspx), validation will occur before your business object gets its values set; only the values in the validated controls can be validated. In this scenario, the validations you specify on a class are really a specification of how you want the controls' values to be validated, and in this case it looks like one of the properties involved in this comparison is not mapped to any control so the validation fails.