Enterprise Library 4.1 Exception Handling

Topics: Exception Handling Application Block
Nov 24, 2010 at 8:41 AM

I'm new to Enterprise Library.
I need to create two type of exception handling method. one is write to event log. another one is write to SQL DB.
I have created the policy (Name - ExceptionPolicy) in enterprise library configuration. under the policy i have created one exception type then Logging Handler.
Also i checked in the EntLibConfig.exe.config file <exceptionHandling> <exceptionPolicies>. it's there.
 Now i have 2 questions to ask
1) I'm getting error (object reference not set to an instance of object) When i'm trying to handle the exception in my application
   My code :- ExceptionPolicy.HandleException(ex, "ExceptionPolicy")
2) The configuration i did for event log. now how can i do it for to write the exception to SQL DB. how should i configure for this.

Nov 24, 2010 at 11:33 AM

1.  You probably configured the exceptionHandling settings in a configuration file of a class library.  It should be in the config file of the host/executable project regardless of where the exception handling code is.  Class libraries don't own config files.

2.  I have mentioned the steps on configuring the database trace listener in this thread.

Sarah Urmeneta
Global Technologies and Solutions
Avanade, Inc.
entlib.support@avanade.com

Nov 25, 2010 at 1:49 AM

Thanks for the reply.

I need to pass a database connectionstring dynamically from my class library instead of configuring in the enterprise library.
Please send me the sample for this.
Also, My scanario is first i need to write the error to DB. If there is any issue in stroing error details to the DB then I need to write this exception and original exception to the event log.
Can you please guide me how to do this.

Thanks in advance

Nov 25, 2010 at 2:13 AM