Help with using EntLib w/ SqlCe

Topics: Logging Application Block
Mar 25, 2010 at 3:04 AM

I am new to EntLib and I am having some issues with using the logging to a SqlCE database. Now I had to modify the logging code to not use stored procedures as SqlCE does not support sproc's.  It's performance is very poor ie. 100 traces in 17 seconds on a fast machine.   Once reason is that it seems that the SqlCeConnection pooling is not being used but it is unclear on how to get the logging to use the SqlCe Connection pooling?  Is there a configuration option if so I cannot find it.  In addition I cannot get it to open the SDF file unless I give an explict path to the file even though it is in the same directory.

Thanks for any help

Craig

Mar 25, 2010 at 7:15 AM

Yes, I believe there is really an issue with regards to SqlCe Connection pooling. Try checking this WorkItem http://www.codeplex.com/entlib/WorkItem/View.aspx?WorkItemId=9005 if it will help you on your current problem.

As for "I cannot get it to open the SDF file unless I give an explict path to the file even though it is in the same directory", I have tried this one and it works for me. Please see my sample code below if it may help you.

Just make sure the SDF file is in the same directory of your executable. HTH

static void Main(string[] args)
        {
            StringBuilder builder = new StringBuilder();
            SqlCeDatabase db = new SqlCeDatabase(@"Data Source=Northwind.sdf");

string sqlStr = "Select * from Customers";
            DbCommand command = db.GetSqlStringCommand(sqlStr);
            using (IDataReader reader = db.ExecuteReader(command))
            {               
                while (reader.Read())
                {
                    builder.AppendLine(reader[0].ToString());
                }
            }
            Console.WriteLine(builder.ToString());
            Console.ReadLine();

}

~ginkapitan

Mar 25, 2010 at 1:00 PM