Custom Trace Listener Error

Topics: Logging Application Block
Nov 8, 2007 at 1:20 PM
I am trying to create a custom trace listener using the configuration tool. I click on Type and then drill down to my class library project named "TestProject". In TestProject, I have a class named faCustomTraceListener. This class inherits from CustomTraceListener. But I get this error when I browse to TestProject in the Type field on the configuration tool:

There were no types found in the assembly TestProject that implement or inherit from the base type Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Logging.TraceListeners.CustomTraceListener.

I am brand new to EL 3.1 and Logging in general. I am clueless here on what I did wrong. Any Help would be apprecitated.

Thanks,
Bob
Nov 9, 2007 at 7:14 PM
Hi,

You need to add the ConfigurationElementType, specifying the CustomTraceListenerData type.

However, it looks like you hit a problem with the configuration tool. For most custom providers, you would need to add the ConfigurationElementType to let the configuration serialization code deserialize configuration. However, since existing TraceListeners may not have such an attribute, a different mechanism is used for trace listeners so the attribute is not required. Unfortunately, the configuration tool node, which represents the configuration at design time, seems to rely on the attribute for filtering.

Regards,
Fernando
Nov 12, 2007 at 1:18 PM
Hey Fernando,

I do have ConfigurationElementType specifying the CustomTraceListenerData. Of course maybe I specified this incorrectly. Here is the code for my class faCustomTraceListener.vb:

Imports Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Common.Configuration
Imports Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Logging.Configuration
Imports Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Logging.Configuration.CustomTraceListenerData
Imports Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Logging.TraceListeners

<ConfigurationElementType(GetType(CustomTraceListenerData))> _