Logging to database using my own table

Topics: Building and extending application blocks, Logging Application Block
Nov 6, 2007 at 3:33 PM
Hi all,

I can write to the SQL table (Log) that comes with the Enterprise Library 3.1. But I really want to create my own SQL table with columns that I choose. Can this be done or are you locked into using the Log table? I have not been able to find any examples that show what I want to do. Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Bob
Nov 6, 2007 at 3:54 PM
Hi Bob,

The existing DB trace listener uses that specific schema, but you're free to create your own TraceListener that writes to a different schema, either fixed or using some kind of mapping.
You can use the app block software factory for creating such a listener, or use the existing db listener as a starting point.

Hope this helps,
Fernando
Nov 6, 2007 at 4:28 PM
Hey Fernando,

Thanks for the reply. I forgot to mention that I am a newbie on this Enterprise Library 3.1 and Logging. You mentioned that I can create my own TraceListener that writes to a different schema. But how do I do this? I have scoured the documentation and seen nothing like this. You also said I could use the blocks software factory. Again, I do not know what this is. Maybe you could list for me the first 2 or 3 steps in more detail then I can take it from there.

Thanks,
Bob
Nov 6, 2007 at 6:03 PM
Hi,

There is no specific information on how to create a trace listener that writes to a different db schema, but there are topics on how to create new trace listeners (eg ms-help://ms.EntLib.2007May/EnterpriseLibrary/html/06-130-Creating_Custom_Trace_Listeners.htm).

There's also a whole section about the ABSF in ms-help://ms.EntLib.2007May/EnterpriseLibrary/html/10-000-Application_Block_Software_Factory.htm.

I suggest you look at the FormattedDatabaseTraceListener to learn how it is invoking the stored procedure, and use a similar approach to write to your tables.

Fernando
Nov 6, 2007 at 7:08 PM