Any examples of using Logging in a 3-tiered architecture setting?

Topics: Building and extending application blocks, General discussion, Logging Application Block
Nov 2, 2007 at 1:59 PM
Hi all,

I am brand new to the Enterprise Library 3.1. I am building a 3-tier ASP.Net web application and I want to incorporate logging. I will have my presentation tier (aspx web page and code behind), my buisness logic layer (Class files such as Customers.vb) and then my data access and logging tier ( Enterprise Library 3.1). Or this is how I would have done this in the past. I have never done logging before so is this the correct structure? I really need help on how to capture logging info and then writing it to a SQL table. I also need help on how to design my new application so that I can easily use this logging layer.

I want to log certain events like when a user logins in and logs out. I also will have some other custom events that I'd like to log. I also want to log these events to a SQL Server 2005 database and insert rows into a table that I create and define.

I cannot find any examples of doing this while searching the web. I am sure what I am trying to do is fairly typical, right? Can anyone help quide me or at least post some links of examples. At this point, I am totally clueless on how to use logging and how to architect my new application.

Thanks,
Bob
Nov 2, 2007 at 5:15 PM
Bob,

The first place I would starting looking is in the Quick Starts. The Logging Quick Start solution should give you a basic understating of what is needed. If you want to log to a database the logging application block contains a Database Trace Listener. When you write to the Logger, the logging application block uses the category specified to route that log entry to a Trace Listener. I would start with using a flat file first, then move on to the Database Trace Listener. If you search for "Database Trace Listener" you will find some common question and answers.

Good luck,

Travis