PIAB Custom Handler Not Intercepting

Topics: Policy Injection Application Block
Jul 23, 2007 at 7:36 PM
Hello,

I'm new to AOP and I'm having a hard time wrapping my brain around developing a custom handler. I'm not trying to create a whole new handler as found here: http://www.devx.com/dotnet/Article/34592.

I just want to create a handler that uses the built-in Custom Handler.

I have a very simple form:

namespace PIABTest
{
public partial class TestForm : Form
{
public TestForm()
{
InitializeComponent();
}

private void uxAddTest_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
TestData testData = new TestData();
testData.AddTest(uxNameIn.Text);
}
}
}

Which calls a very simple middle-tier object:

namespace PIABTest.BusinessLogic
{
class TestData : MarshalByRefObject
{
private int id;
private string name;

public TestData()
{
id = 0;
name = "";
}

public int AddTest(string name)
{
this.name = name;

return id;
}
}
}

With the absolute most plain-jane call handler that I'm trying to put in the middle

using Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Common.Configuration;
using Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.PolicyInjection;
using Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.PolicyInjection.Configuration;

namespace PIABTest
{
ConfigurationElementType(typeof(CustomCallHandlerData))
public class TestDataCallHandler : ICallHandler
{
public IMethodReturn Invoke(IMethodInvocation input, GetNextHandlerDelegate getNext)
{
IMethodReturn msg = getNext()(input, getNext);

return msg;
}
}
}

and the PIAB part of my app.config is:
<policyInjection>
<policies>
<add name="Test Data Policy">
<matchingRules>
<add type="Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.PolicyInjection.MatchingRules.NamespaceMatchingRule, Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.PolicyInjection, Version=3.1.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a"
name="Namespace Matching Rule">
<matches>
<add match="PIABTest.BusinessLogic" ignoreCase="false" />
</matches>
</add>
</matchingRules>
<handlers>