Exception loading assembly for dataConfiguration section of app.config

Topics: Data Access Application Block, General discussion
Jul 13, 2007 at 3:24 PM
I'm just getting started migrating a large ELB 1.1/.NET 1.1/VS2003 app to ELB 3.1/.NET 2.0/VS2005, so I'm a newbie to ELB 3.1...

I finally got a first clean compile and then created my App.config using the VS-integrated EL config tool. But my first call to DatabaseFactory.CreateDatabase gets an exception:

System.Configuration.ConfigurationErrorsException An error occurred creating the configuration section handler for dataConfiguration: Could not load file or assembly 'Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data, Version=, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a' or one of its dependencies. The located assembly's manifest definition does not match the assembly reference. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80131040) (C:\Projects\USM VERS 1.6.1 - ELB 3.1 - NET 2.0 - VS2005 - 06 Jul 07\PrimaryUI\bin\Debug\UltraSM.vshost.exe.config line 6)

Line 6 of my App.config file has:

<section name="dataConfiguration" type="Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data.Configuration.DatabaseSettings, Microsoft.Practices.EnterpriseLibrary.Data, Version=, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a" />

And so I SUSPECT that the exception may be caused by the config file referencing a signed assembly, and the ELB blocks that I've built - and which are present in ~\bin\debug at run time - aren't signed (although my experience with signed assemblies is almost nil).

But why does the config file generated by the config tool specify a PublicKeyToken value? The config for the Data block QuickStart has PublicKeyToken-=null, and it runs OK. I tried manually editing my app.config to specify PublicKeyToken=null (for only the dataConfiguration section), but then I get a different exception: "The value can not be null or an empty string."

Or am I totally going down the wrong path?

Jul 13, 2007 at 4:17 PM
Hi DT,